ISMRM names incoming president, hands out awards

2021 05 17 17 34 9209 Ismrm 2021 Graphic 400

The International Society for Magnetic Resonance in Medicine (ISMRM) this week named its new president for the 2021-2022 cycle, in addition to handing out awards during its annual ISMRM 2021 meeting.

The current president, Dr. Tim Leiner, PhD, will welcome Fernando Calamante, PhD, to become the new president of the society for 2021-2022. Leiner will also welcome new board of trustee members.

In terms of awards, ISMRM's Gold Medal recognizes major research contributions to the field of MRI. This year's recipients are the following:

  • Dr. Frederik Barkhof, PhD, a neuroradiology professor at Queen Square Institute of Neurology and Centre for Medical Imaging Computing at University College London, for his work on deciphering neurological diseases and conditions with MRI
  • Douglas Rothman, PhD, a professor of radiology, biomedical imaging, and biomedical engineering at Yale University School of Medicine in New Haven, CT, for his studies of brain, muscle, and liver metabolism using MR spectroscopic imaging
  • Dr. Clare Tempany-Afdhal, a radiology professor at Harvard Medical School, for furthering diagnosis and treatment of prostate cancer using MRI

ISMRM's next annual meeting will be a joint event held with the European Society of MR in Medicine and Biology (ESMRMB) on 7-12 May 2022 in London.

Page 1 of 138
Next Page