The work begins for ESR's new leadership team

2024-2025 ESR President Prof. Andrea Rockall
2024-2025 ESR President Prof. Andrea Rockall
Image courtesy of Tessa Smith Photography

The European Society of Radiology (ESR) Board of Directors and Executive Council have entered office. Prof. Andrea Rockall has become the first ESR president to come from the U.K. since 2008. This follows the society's general assembly held at ECR 2024 on 3 March.

Prof. Carlo Catalano from Rome has assumed the position of chairperson of the ESR Board of Directors, the highest governing role within the society. Rockall is also chair of the ECR 2025 program planning committee and president of ECR 2025.

The ESR noted that Prof. Mathias Prokop from Nijmegen, the Netherlands, has joined the ESR Board of Directors as second V-P, following his successful election in January.

In addition, the ESR welcomed new Executive Council members Prof. Konstantin Nikolaou, who will serve as chair of the new Statutory Committee on AI and Emerging Technologies, and Prof. Ioana Gheonea, who will serve as chair of a statutory committee focusing on issues important to the next generation of radiologists. Prof. Regina Beets-Tan's term on the Board of Directors ended on 3 March, but she will continue to serve in her new role as EIBIR scientific director, the ESR noted.

More information about the newly appointed members can be found on the ESR website.

Page 1 of 546
Next Page